Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Stocking stuffing for a toddler. The stocking is for the toddler. Not the instructional post.

Remember when you were a kid, it always felt like Christmas took forever to arrive? And then you get old and it just sneaks up on you out of nowhere!

Monkey will be about 17 months at Christmas, and stuffing his stocking is proving to be trickier than I would have expected. Clearly I’m not the only one having this problem, given the number of forum posts I turned up googling “18 month old boy Christmas stocking ideas”. You don’t ask Google to help with every aspect of your life? No? Just me then.

Anyway. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far. Monkey has zero interest in stuffed animals, so we’ll have none of those. My family has a tradition of always stuffing the toe of the stocking with a pair of socks, so that’s a start. He loves when we blow bubbles, so I need to find some of those. There was a cute little wooden toy stand in the shopping centre the other day, so I grabbed him a froggy castanette, a bumble bee marracca and a soldier recorder pipe type thing. They were only a few dollars each and I hope he’ll enjoy the racket they make! Santa also always leaves a book, so I’ve got an adorable finger puppet book with a monkey in it! (And a matching one with an owl that will be a gift from Mummy and Daddy – there is a whole series and they’re so cute, the cousins are getting one each too. Thanks MODG!). Like all kids (all humans?) he loves chocolate, so he’ll get small bag of chocolate chips. And its customary in my family to get a handmade decoration for the tree. I already made this felt square wreath from a tutorial I found here:

image

but I’m not sure if I like it, so I might have a go at something else if I get time. Hubs suggested a couple of little bouncy balls, so I’ll be on the lookout for those as well, and some kind of fruit, probably seedless grapes.

The other challenge of course is working out how much stuff will actually fit in the stocking! I think I might be getting close with that list – we only do stocking sized stockings, not these huge sacks that you see around nowadays.

4 comments on “Stocking stuffing for a toddler. The stocking is for the toddler. Not the instructional post.

  1. glumbunny
    November 14, 2012

    Lovely wreath! Some of Bun Bun’s favorites are crumpled pieces of paper she pulls from the recycling, unfortunate items from the dirty laundry (like my bra, for example), and the bag of rice in the bottom of the pantry. The last is perhaps a bit large for a stocking…

    For reals, stockings are my very favorite part of Christmas, so I enjoy them very much. We also put socks in… Maybe stickers, preferably some that will restick over and over. Last year these were the biggest hit: http://www.paper-source.com/cgi-bin/paper/item/Finger-Tentacles/3303_014/438644.html
    Pricey, but so awesome.

    • boringyear
      November 15, 2012

      Would you believe, I saw those on ThinkGeek just a couple of days ago while looking for a Christmas gift for Hubs. They sell them a little cheaper by the looks. Hilarious!! I may have to place an order…

      http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/e7d1/?srp=1

      • glumbunny
        November 15, 2012

        BUY THEM. They’re probably made of poison, every baby who sees them loves them.

      • boringyear
        November 16, 2012

        The poison sold me. Everyone knows babies love poison! I just ordered them… along with this
        http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/ea36/?srp=1

        I love ThinkGeek. I can’t wait until Monkey is old enough for Introductory Calculus For Infants!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2012 by in baby talk, loot, the craft.
