Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

My first time since highschool

And never anything so big before…
I built this for Monkey!!

image

DIY learning tower

So proud.

I saw the Learning Tower online recently and knew we needed one. Monkey absolutely has to be part of the kitchen action, which usually means I have to either cook one-handed with him on my hip (awkward much?) or Hubs has to stand in the kitchen with Monkey while I dodge the two of them and as well as two dogs!

Since we have to be very careful with money now, I knew we couldn’t afford to buy one. Boooo. But thanks to Ana White I was able to build one for a fraction of the price!

I’m very excited with how it turned out. It isn’t perfect, which of course annoys me (this is something I need to work on!) but it is pretty good and I hope that Monkey will really enjoy it for many years (its height adjustable you know!!).

I’m still trying to decide whether to clad it to make it more like the FunPod… as it stands currently its designed so that the kid can climb in and out by themselves which could be either good or bad! I can definitely see the benefit to having Monkey stuck in there once he’s in!

The first test went well. Its a little wobbly but that’s at least half to do with how uneven our kitchen floor is, and nothing a little stick-on felt won’t fix! Monkey liked the wobble anyway, as any monkey would. He stood and peered at me while I peeled carrots – its a hit!

However, I will have to seriously plan how I do things with the tower around. There’s really only one good place for it to go in our kitchen, and by good I mean not in reaching distance of the stove, oven, dishwasher, hot water tap or other implements of doom. Its in front of the drawers, so I will have to learn to get out all the utensils I need before inserting the child. And then I will have to be sure to keep said utensils far far away from Reachy McGrabbyhands.

But that’s a small price to pay! The thing is a success – Hubs and I have already christened it The Armsaver 3000.

Make one!! You know you want to…

One comment on “My first time since highschool

  1. glumbunny
    November 16, 2012

    Ooooo! Ooooo! First, I’m just deeply impressed that you made this! I can’t do ANYTHING requiring precision, and my one woodworking experience proved to me that wood…it ain’t bendy. Fabric has a pretty good tolerance, wood, not so much. Also, a friend has promised me the play tower that doesn’t fit in her kitchen, and I’m really looking forward to finding out whether or not it works for us. I’d love to have Bun Bun watch rather than whining on the ground…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2012 by in baby talk, build it.
