Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Quiet book. Let the planning begin!

I’ve been inspired by Pinterest to make a quiet book for Monkey. I am especially in love with the fabulous pages made by Stephanie at Imagine Our Life. I aspire to such awesomeness.

I don’t think Monkey is quite old enough to really appreciate a quiet book, andplusalso I am a slow poke, so I’m planning to make it as a present for his second birthday. This gives me 8 months to plan, design and make the quiet book. I am concerned that this will not be long enough.

The first thing I need to do is compile a list of activities I want to include, and try to figure out which ones will actually suit a 2 year old. Then I will work out how to combine them and design pages for each one.

So without further ado, here is my list of ideas for quiet book activities so far:

  • Zippers
  • Poppers
  • Lacing and tying
  • Weaving
  • Pegs
  • Buckles
  • Buttons
  • Velcro
  • Mirror
  • Finger puppets
  • Colours
  • Shapes
  • Letters and numbers
  • Matching pairs

I think my biggest challenge is going to be keeping the book age appropriate and not trying to add in every awesome idea I’ve ever seen. Note to self: this does not have to be the be all and end all of quiet books… I can always make another one when Monkey gets older! Plus if I make the book binder-style, I can add and remove pages without having to make an entirely new book.

Have you seen or made a quiet book? What other ideas should I include?

2 comments on “Quiet book. Let the planning begin!

  1. Bionic
    November 25, 2012

    What a cool project! Your list is so great it’s hard to think of suggestions. I know our bean (20 mo) has been very taken with magnets for some time, so perhaps a page with some of those, covered in thick cloth so they are somewhat weak?

    • boringyear
      November 25, 2012

      Ooo magnets!! Brilliant. That’s going on my list for sure!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2012 by in baby talk, quiet book, the craft.
