Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

I’m bringing crunchy back

I’ve always been the crunchiest person I know, although by some standards I’m pretty tame. Monkey was a home water birth; we use cloth nappies and still breastfeed and co-sleep at 16 months. Although I haven’t had a postpartum period yet, when I do, I use a Diva Cup and cloth pads. If there’s a low chemical or more environmentally friendly product that does a comparable job, I like to use it – I don’t believe its necessary to disinfect everything all the time and I hate to be wasteful.

That was until Monkey started having chemo. Then we became a hardcore disposable disinfecting product chemical loving household. The doctors told us we didn’t need to start disinfecting everything – most of the risk of infection came from his own internal and external flora (and takeaway chicken).

We decided to do it anyway. I guess it was equal parts “better safe than sorry” and “need to feel like I’m doing something to help”.

As soon as we brought him home from hospital, I went on a chemical laden shopping spree. I bought some things I’d never bought before, and things I’d stopped buying in favour of lower chemical alternatives. I came home with disposable disinfecting wipes for surfaces and hands, bleach and spray disinfectant, Milton’s solution to disinfect drink bottles and toothbrushes, commercial laundry powder. I spent a small fortune on products that until now we’d always done perfectly well without.

But now Monkey is in remission! So I’m trying to get my crunch back.

The last of my laundry powder ran out last week, so I’ve switched back to soapnuts. Instead of wiping the highchair with disposable disinfectant wipes, we use a (clean) sponge. The drink bottles are back to being run through the dishwasher.

It feels good to be getting back to my old way of doing things. Its starting to feel like Monkey was never sick at all.

Now if only I could work out how to successfully remove mould from the shower with bicarb like a proper hippy!

3 comments on “I’m bringing crunchy back

  1. glumbunny
    November 29, 2012

    Oh, what a great symbol of things being so much better. I tend to take the crunchy route when I can, though, okay, I’m not quite willing to use cloth pads…bridge too far…but I use organic cotton tampons, so hey! BUT I have a few kinds of poison in the house, including spray with bleach for cleaning the shower, which I use only every few months if necessary ahem ahem. ANYWAY, I’m betting having a kid with cancer gives you a pretty serious case of PTSD, but I bet every little thing helps with the healing.

    • boringyear
      November 29, 2012

      To be honest, I wouldn’t use cloth pads by themselves – too messy for me. But since I use the Diva Cup, pads are just a backup. I don’t even really need them but I feel more comfortable that way, and they never really get dirty.

  2. erin
    December 1, 2012

    thanks for commenting on my blog, it does mean a lot to know that people care! and yes cancer does bite the big one 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2012 by in crunchy hippie.
