Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Advent for a 16 month old

For his first Christmas, my parents bought Monkey a fabulous wooden advent train, which they bought in a market in Rome, lugged around for a whole day, and then carefully brought all the way home.

This thing is 100% super future-family-heirloom adorable:
wpid-IMG_20121201_104719.jpg

I’ve been going back and forth about doing Advent for Monkey this year. He’s only 16 months, he won’t really understand what’s going on. I told myself I wouldn’t bother. And then I started reading about everyone else’s wonderful Advent calendars with activities or toys or good old fashioned chocolate, and I decided I just had to do it – I couldn’t leave that darling train empty!!

The little cupboards in the train are mostly very small – not much will fit into them. Matchbox cars are out. And frankly, the kid already has enough toys he doesn’t play with anyway! So I’ve decided this year will be a combination of activities and treats. I’m also storing up some great ideas for future years, such as Lego men or puzzle pieces – or perhaps I will have a little pile of wrapped presents and some of the “activities” will be to choose something from the pile.

Since this was a last minute zero planning decision, today’s activity was “Decorate the tree!”.
20121202
I also bought some small chocolates and marshmallows when I went shopping. I’m thinking other activities may include:

  • Sing Christmas carols
  • Go out for ice-cream
  • Look at the decorations in the city
  • Wrap presents
  • Bake cookies
  • Read a Christmas story
  • Play with “snow” bubbles

Although I’m not sure any of the activities will hold Monkey’s attention for more than a few minutes. I’ll be thrilled if we can manage to bake cookies! Clearly I need some more ideas.

My main concern is how to involve Hubs in the activities, and still open the Advent calendar roughly the same time every day (is that a thing? In my head it’s a thing). I guess we could always do the specified activity the following day, but that seems awfully anticlimactic somehow. Hubs gets home around 4:30pm on work days, so that would be a good Advent-opening time, but it’s hard to fit much into the day after that!

What ideas do you have for Advent activities? How do you make sure the whole family is involved?

2 comments on “Advent for a 16 month old

  1. glumbunny
    December 2, 2012

    Ooooo! The train is so lovely, and so is your genius set of ideas. I think Monkey sounds very advanced (as well as so gorgeous! looks like he gets it from you…) because I’d probably just stuff it with ribbons or stickers or random crud from the recyling bin. So far about 10 – 15 minutes is Bun Bun’s max… Maybe the husband ones could be things you normally do anyway, like bath, but the husband could do special bubble bath or something.

    • boringyear
      December 2, 2012

      Ooo stickers is a great idea! I’m stealing that. And the bath thing is good too… Hubs always does bath time anyway, but now I’m imagining a Christmas themed bath (somehow!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2012 by in baby talk.
