Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

My nipples are sticky

When it comes to teething, Monkey doesn’t mess around. A few weeks ago he decided to cut 3 canines simultaneously, and he did the same with his premolars before that.

He doesn’t generally get grumpy during the day when his teeth are coming in, although he’ll chew his fingers and dribble like a champ.

Night time is a different story though. He will go to sleep initially like normal, but then he’ll wake up an indeterminate (short) time later and have a beast of a time resettling. He’ll go back to sleep, wake up 5-10 minutes later – rinse and repeat. And repeat. And so on.

The worst of the resettlings usually come in the wee hours of the morning, when I’m half asleep and often fail to think about pain killers until an hour or more later. Inevitably once I medicate him, he goes straight to sleep and stays that way for a reasonable (for him) stretch of time.

And late night meds dribbled on his face plus nursing equals sticky nipples. Which has nothing to do with anything really, I just wanted an excuse to put my nipples in the title.

The thing I struggle with is deciding when/if to medicate him. Sometimes it takes weeks for the teeth to actually come through, and being a crunchy hippy I tend to favour the less is more approach to drugs, although I certainly do use them. I just worry about how often, and whether he actually needs them or if its all in my head.

But when Monkey was first admitted to hospital and his tumour was causing him a lot of pain, the doctors drugged him up good. He was on therapeutic doses of pain meds, having paracetamol every 6 hours and ibuprofen every 8 hours, with some codeine thrown in for good measure every 4 hours as needed, and even some oxycodone on occasion (that stuff is good. He was on that regime for probably close to three weeks.

I asked several doctors and nurses on several different occasions whether being on the pain meds long term was safe for him, and nobody seemed the slightest bit concerned.

So now I wonder if I’m being silly to worry about giving pain meds at night for several nights in a row. Compared to what the doctors put him on, and compared to the chemo, it seems pretty insignificant, and yet I find it hard to shake my hippy reluctance.

How often do you medicate your child, and how do you decide if they need it or not?

3 comments on “My nipples are sticky

  1. Erin
    January 5, 2013

    Any night where my daughter was waking up every ten minutes, I assume she’s in enough pain to medicate. Honestly, even every hour is too much (though she’s two and a half now, so that’s really not normal for her). I think we gave her a dose of acetaminophen every night for three months when her two year molars were coming in, because she was so miserable at night if we skipped it. I didn’t love it, but I think a good night’s sleep was more important.

    • boringyear
      January 5, 2013

      Thanks Erin – it makes me feel a lot better to know I’m not the only one who is medicating at night for an extended period of time! Monkey has always been a bad sleeper so I guess I still struggle with telling if I should medicate or if it’s something else, or if he’s just being contrary!

  2. Nicole
    January 7, 2013

    I always ran the gamut of other options first. Did nursing, holding, rocking, baby wearing, a clean diaper, change of rooms, etc. etc work? If not, and I’m fairly certain this is a discomfort issue, then yes, I’d use Tylenol. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not that big of a deal. And given that you’re already making good choices and this isn’t one more thing on top of a steady diet of Kool-Aid and Cheetos, I think you’re pretty ok 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2013 by in baby talk, brain fry, crunchy hippie.
