Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

A happy culinary accident

Leek chips and coleslaw with hummus, oh my!

These might be a surprise to nobody except me, but just in case I thought I’d share.

I made a tray of roasted vegetables – potatoes, carrots and leek. I cut my leek lengthways to wash it, and then chopped it into chunks and tossed all the vegetables with olive oil. As a result of the chopping and tossing, some of the bits of leek separated into their individual layers. Then when I roasted them, those bits ended up all crispy and delicious, like little leek chips! It was totally an accident, but I will be doing it on purpose from now on.

Also – coleslaw with hummus instead of mayonnaise is delicious and super healthy! Plus if you make the hummus yourself, it’s cheap like a budgie.

Make coleslaw with finely diced salad onion, red capsicum, grated carrot and shredded cabbage. Whiz up some hummus – a drained can of chick peas, a clove or two garlic, a teaspoon of tahini, the juice of a lemon, and water or olive oil to get the consistency you like. Then mix it together!!

It’s really tasty, and the protein and fibre from the chick peas make the coleslaw much more satisfying – made that way I can have it as a stand alone meal.

Have you got any delicious secrets to share?

2 comments on “A happy culinary accident

  1. glumbunny
    January 17, 2013

    What a great idea! I didn’t think you really meant coleslaw with hummus IN it, but now that you explain, it does sound worth a try.

    • boringyear
      January 17, 2013

      Sounds weird I know… But surprisingly yummy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2013 by in feeding time.
