Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Banana bread of wonder

I enjoy cooking an eating tasty food – desserts mostly. And if I can make something that’s both healthy and delicious, so much the better! For some reason this enjoyment doesn’t extend to cooking dinner, although I have no idea why…

In any case – to what extent does one have to change a recipe before it’s no longer plagiarism? This whole business of copyright and sharing things on the interwebs makes my brain hurt.

I started with a recipe for banana bread from a book called 4 Ingredients – Kids, which called for mayonnaise as one of the four ingredients. I thought that sounded totally gross until it occurred to me that mayo is really just egg and oil.

I’m far too lazy busy to make mayo by hand, but I’d recently seen this video for 20 second mayo. Huzzah! Don’t put mustard in it though. To be honest you probably don’t even need to bother turning it into mayo, the ingredients by themselves would do the trick. But I’m lazy and I shove the bananas into the blender instead of mashing them by hand so it works for me! Also I use olive oil, because we get it for free from my parents, and I consider it to be healthy, but I’m sure any oil would do the trick.

So without further ado, here is my tasty, easy and healthy* banana bread recipe.

Banana Bread
1 cup mayo OR 200ml oil and 1 egg
3 bananas (mashed or equivalent)
2 cups wholemeal self raising flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla essence

Mix everything together. Stick it in a greased loaf tin and bake at 180 C for about 60 minutes. When it’s done a skewer will come out clean.

It’s delicious warm with butter, either fresh from the oven or toasted. I slice it up and freeze it – it makes a great breakfast.

Monkey likes to eat it frozen! But then he did eat a pile of frozen 5 bean mix last night so don’t take his word for it.

Hubs thinks it could use some sugar, but I’m a fan of less is more when it comes to sugar, especially in things I’m going to feed to Monkey (or eat for breakfast). I’m happy to use it but I think a lot of recipes have way more sugar than they need, and in this instance I think it’s quite fine without.

If you try it out I’d love to hear what you think! Let me know how you’d improve on it…

*These days healthy seems to be a subjective term – if you’re Paleo for example, you’ll probably tell me it’s not healthy, in which case, feel free to not make it!

2 comments on “Banana bread of wonder

  1. glumbunny
    February 1, 2013

    So funny! Mayo = vomits in my mouth, but egg + oil = totally fine! Certainly SOUNDS delicious.

    • boringyear
      February 1, 2013

      So weird right? I was all ‘mayo in a cake?! *spew*’. And then I stopped and thought about it and it made perfect sense…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 30, 2013 by in crunchy hippie, feeding time.
