Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Quiet book page – rocket ship zipper! And genius inspiration.

The first page for Monkey’s quiet book is finally finished! It only took what, 2 months? Which means that progress is minimal, and if he’s lucky there might be 4 pages in the book by his birthday. Why yes, I do enjoy biting off more than I can chew!

In any case – here it is! Plagiarized from Inspired by Imagine Our Life’s rocket ship page, because I am completely unoriginal. Part machine-sewn, part hand-sewn – the stars are hand stitched because sequins would get yanked off, and the rocket and moon craters are done by hand. I need to do more machine sewing for future pages – it’s so much faster, although I do love the look of the bits hand sewn.

image

image

Blast off!

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. It’s not as perfect as I would have liked, but this is an issue I’m working on. Despite what my brain thinks, Monkey isn’t going to care, and it is very unlikely that he will even remember this book, let alone hand it down to future generations as a family heirloom.

However, during my creation of this page, I had a revelation. When Monkey was admitted to the hospital, he was given a quilt which we were allowed to pick from the cupboard full of donated quilts that the ward had. This was a lovely gesture and certainly helped to brighten up his hospital room, but not terribly useful overall. It has occurred to me that quilters’ skills could translate well to quiet books. If you’re crafty, and have spare time, it’s easy to run out of reasons to craft for yourself. And there are only so many quilts the hospital needs as donations – they already have so many! But quiet books… Genius! A quiet book would have been fabulous for Monkey during his time in hospital. They can be made to suit a variety of age ranges depending on the content, and would be great entertainment for the kids who have to sit still in bed for chemo etc.

This is going to be my new mission. Next time I’m at the hospital, I plan to double check that they would be willing to accept such donations – although if quilts are fine, I can’t see any difference with quiet books (they don’t accept second-hand or fluffy toys because of hygiene issues). I imagine that a book would be given to each child and become theirs, so that germs wouldn’t be a problem.

If the hospital agrees, I’m going to get in contact with the local quilters’ association to let them know my idea. I’ll tell them how much we appreciated the quilt we received, but that I now know the hospital has an oversupply of quilts, and suggest that perhaps some members might be interested in making quiet books instead.

And in about 20 years when I have the time, I’ll make some myself!

2 comments on “Quiet book page – rocket ship zipper! And genius inspiration.

  1. bunny
    February 14, 2013

    Oh wow! I super love the page, and the idea is MAGNIFICENT. I hope they say yes. How could they not!

  2. theyneedlovetoo
    July 2, 2013

    This turned out great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2013 by in quiet book, the craft.
