Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Who wears short shorts?

Monkey wears short shorts! In preference to anything else, apparently.

The weather is starting to cool down here finally, and we’ve had a few mornings that have been a little chilly. As a result, I’ve tried to dress Monkey in long pants to keep his legs warm.

However, after months of wearing nothing but shorts (if that!) long pants now freak him out. As in screaming, writhing, tears and a general sense of ‘why are you trying to kill me with trousers?!’.

Our beloved Babylegs have the same effect. In fact I had to change him out of his long pyjama pants at midnight last night and back into shorts because he was so upset by the feeling of fabric on his ankles that he couldn’t sleep.

image

I suspect the same thing will happen when the time comes to start wearing long sleeved shirts too.

Somebody please tell me this will be short lived!!

I have no problem with him having a say in what he wears – if he wants to wear mismatched clothes with a purple tutu and a Batman cape, then I’m all for it. But I don’t want the poor kid to freeze in the process!

image

image

What do you do when your kid doesn’t want to wear weather appropriate clothing?

2 comments on “Who wears short shorts?

  1. Mina
    March 13, 2013

    I am very grateful this is one of the things we don’t have to fight over. I think it helps that over here we have more cold days than warm. Of course, I have to explain over and over that yes, today we need boots again, just like yesterday, since the snow of last week is still here. And we also need the hat, and the gloves, and the coat. I found that the old trick of ‘giving them choices’ works quite well if you know how to present the matter. As in ‘would you like to wear the blue coat today or the brown one? I think the brown one goes so well with the brown boots, the ones with the bear, while the blue one goes well with the Cars boots. What do you think? Wow, the brown coat with the Cars boots? Oh, you wild one…’ I glued the bears myself on the boots, because I couldn’t find another way to make him wear them.
    But this startedworking after he turned two. Before, I would just grit my teeth, shove limbs in coats and pants and boots, bribe with a treat afterwards and do my damnedest best to forget about all of it until the next time. 🙂
    Oh, and I did let him play with snow without gloves after I he threw them for the fifth time. His hands got cold and he started whining, and so the gloves got back on. After 3-4 times of doing this, now he asks for the goves. Yay!
    You could talk to the doctor to see if he doesn’t have some sort of sensory issues. I hope it’s not, and this is just typical toddler behaviour. Sarah from An Embarassment of good Fortune had to go through something similar with her daughter, here is what she wrote about that.
    http://anembarrassment.blogspot.de/2012/10/cold-weather-and-mild-sensory-issues.html
    Best of luck!

  2. glumbunny
    March 14, 2013

    Funny, I was going to link to Sarah’s post, too! Small world… He’s adorable! Bun Bun quickly gets over her loathing of anything new, and I hope Monkey will too. I let her suffer the consequences when it comes to gloves and hats, but she gets stuffed into her warm clothes, like it or not, if I absolutely have to.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2013 by in baby talk, brain fry.
