Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

I wish I had a night vision camera

Monkey has been a terrible sleeper his whole life, and we’ve always just accepted that as the way he was and figured he would eventually work it out. We now wonder in hindsight if some of that came from the discomfort of his growing tumor, but I guess there’s not much point speculating.

For the first 14 months or so he would nap only about 30 minutes at a time, and would wake up 30 minutes after I put him to bed, and then every hour or two after that. He has never ever slept with a wet nappy (my record is 7 changes in one night), and now makes me take him to the toilet in the middle of the night (although he’s generally too busy to bother during the day).

At just over 20 months I’m finally starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. His one nap a day is generally about 90 minutes, although I sometimes still have to snooze with him, and I can see that he is starting to night wean on his own.

I’m glad for that, and a little sad. We’re ready to try for another child (before I lose my nerve!) but I haven’t got my period back yet and I’ve been tossing up about trying to actively night wean him. It’s not something I want to do so I’m grateful he is getting there by himself.

Last night he technically only woke up once – at 11pm, for some water and a couple of mouthfuls of milk. He was all done and back asleep within 10 minutes. But I say technically only because he didn’t go back to sleep again after he woke up at 4:30am. Yuck! (But also – 5.5 hours straight!! That’s a lot for us. And we stayed in bed until 6:30 except for 2 toilet trips thanks to the magic of the Bunny Clock) A couple of nights ago he managed to find his drink bottle on his own for the first time, and get himself a drink of water before he climbed into bed with me (well, rolled out of his bed into mine!). And last week he even managed to sleep for 8 hours straight one night!! First time ever in his life. Sometimes he’s still up every couple of hours but I’m starting to see fewer wakeups outnumber more.

Then tonight he woke up at 9:30pm – he was sideways down the end of his bed (man they get into some weird sleeping positions!). I gave him his water, he had a drink, rolled over and went back to sleep. Usually he gives me his bottle back – tonight he kept it. So now he’s asleep, curled up around his sippy cup. Cutest thing ever – I wish I could take a photo! But since I can’t, I’m telling you about it instead. (Or I’m telling future me, so I can remember it later.)

And now gratuitous sleeping baby photos.

image

image

What is it about being asleep that makes them extra specially adorable? (I suspect its a combination of being both silent and stationary).

image

image

image

But then when I wake up to this, I think that’s pretty damn adorable too!

image

ETA: For shame! WordPress app didn’t upload my photos. And then Monkey woke up wailing at 10:30 (which he never does – bad dream?). Hopefully they will upload this time!

5 comments on “I wish I had a night vision camera

  1. Mina
    April 3, 2013

    But where are the photos?!
    I love how innocent and sweet all babies look when they sleep.
    Btw, George was a crap sleeper for a long time, almost two years. Now he sleeps decently, but he does still wake up, although now it might be because of his little brother, who has this new habit of getting up at sparrow’s fart o’clock and he starts gurgling and crawls all over him. Still, there are children who simply sleep well from the beginning, others who need years to learn to sleep more than two hours at a time. This is another reason why we wanted them close in age, we knew it would be so hard to be shown how good sleep can be and then to have to start all over again with the deprivation thing?! I hope Stevie learns quicker than his brother how to sleep properly. I miss sleep…

    • boringyear
      April 4, 2013

      I have never been a good sleeper either. My mum says I didn’t sleep through the night until I was 2.5, and as an adult I never slept well even before Monkey was born. So although it sounds (and is!) horrid, I actually don’t feel that bad during the day.

      I do have my fingers crossed for a sleeper next time around though!

  2. glumbunny
    April 3, 2013

    I’m a huge sucker for an innocent sleeping baby. What magical photos. (Mad props on the turtle pillow, too. We have one just like it. But with different eyes.) My god, it must be amazing to be imagining a goodish night’s sleep after so long! You are quite a superhero, lady!

    • boringyear
      April 4, 2013

      The pillow was one of many attempts to encourage sleep. It made no difference at all! But it is pretty cute!

  3. Karen Moore
    April 17, 2013

    Adorable Monkey! Sleep. I am Gramma to almost 3 year old twins, on night duty. Sleep well sweet ones.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in baby talk, crunchy hippie.
