Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Unconsumed consumables. AKA my junk pile.

My house is full of products meant for consumption that have yet to be consumed. They’re in every room – in the kitchen it’s jars of spices, teabags and fancy grain products. In the bathroom it’s hair gel, face masks and congealed lip gloss. In the laundry, it’s those all those cleaning products that claim to make cleaning the shower easier, but never do. And so it goes on.

This is of course entirely apart from the other junk I have – how many pizza cutters does one household need?

But it all hangs around for the same reason. ME. I appear to be incapable of throwing away things that may some day be useful. Even when my spices are 3 years past their use by date, or so caked into the jar that I couldn’t get them out if I tried. That lip gloss would still be fine if I gave it a stir! Never mind that I wear lip gloss <em>maybe</em> twice a year.

Why is all this stuff so hard to get rid of? I guess it feels wasteful (and it is) to throw away something that could be used. But what’s the point of keeping it for another 10 years and then throwing it away once it is truly past redemption? It just clutters up the place.

I need to have a purge. Someone talk me into it. And then come over and babysit so I can get it done!

Do you hoard stuff that might be useful ‘one day’? Or do you chuck stuff with reckless abandon?

4 comments on “Unconsumed consumables. AKA my junk pile.

  1. Karen Moore
    April 17, 2013

    Oh, I hoard. It’s programmed deep within me both through nature and nurture. It’s a demon to reconcile. Good luck and blessings.

    p.s. Came upon your post via my connection to Caemon. I am holding you and your family in my best thoughts!

  2. glumbunny
    April 18, 2013

    I am a ruthless get-rid-of-it-er, to the extent that I sometimes have to repurchase things I’ve gotten rid of, which is a bit embarrassing. One of my friends is an artist whose entire life is crammed with stuff. She keeps every damn thing, and what do you know, she often has just the right item for whatever she’d up to. Boy, I sure am glad I kept those six jars of various consistency of cornmeal, she’ll say. And I’m like AAAAAAAA I can’t stand it! I don’t care if I wish I’d kept them, because it takes five years for the perfect use to show up, and I can’t keep things around being useless for that long. Anyway, it IS wasteful, you’re right, and particularly if you end up needing another one…

    • boringyear
      April 18, 2013

      How many years does it take before one decides the perfect use will NEVER appear? Because I’m sure some of this stuff has been around for at least 10 years.

  3. chrysta
    July 29, 2013

    yes.i got a bunch of stuff from hair clips to sewing sets.from nails to antibiotics and the list goes on.mostly stacked in boxes,containers,drawers etc but once a year i decide enough is enough and throw most of it away…i barely even triage since most of them i can get them cheap if need arises.the sad part is the next i have just as much stuff if not more.and i never know where it comes for since i barely go shopping.
    anyways i found its easier just to chuck it out just make sure first there`s no mementos or important things in them

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2013 by in brain fry.
