Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

So not cool

Dear Dr Random

I realise you may not know this, but tomorrow is results day. That means that tomorrow, we find out if our lives can continue as normal for the next 3 months, or if we have to jump back into hospital life and subject our baby boy to more chemotherapy and/or surgery.

I am plenty nervous enough. Your phone call at 5:30 this evening while I was making dinner was enough to just about make me puke on the kitchen floor. You could have at least called a bit earlier so I had time for a vodka to recover.

You really shouldn’t go around ringing people up, telling them you’re from the hospital, asking if they’re Monkey’s mum and saying you want to speak to them before the appointment tomorrow. That is heart attack material.

In future, I suggest you lead with “I’m with the research institute at the hospital and would like to ask you some questions when you come in tomorrow”, rather than making anxious parents dig it out of you. On the off chance that you catch someone else the night before results are due, I can promise you that this will severely lessen the shock of your phone call.

Because what you did to me tonight was so not cool.

image

And while we’re on the subject of phone calls – would it really kill you doctor types to provide results over the phone? I get that you’re all busy saving lives and stuff, but come on. Even if it was bad news followed up by a meeting to discuss what happens next, at least it would cut down on this infernal waiting.

That is all.

2 comments on “So not cool

  1. Mina
    April 30, 2013

    Very annoying this not saying anything but in person. I understand their worries, but still… Come on, tomorrow, bring on good news!

  2. glumbunny
    May 1, 2013

    OMG SO NOT COOL. What are they THINKING?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2013 by in brain fry, cancer.
