Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Quiet book page – weaving a bird’s nest

I don’t even want to think about how long it has taken me to finish the second page for Monkey’s quiet book. Given that his second birthday is just over 2 months away, I’d say the odds of this thing having enough pages to make it to gift status are pretty slim. I don’t need it to have all the pages I’ve designed, since I can add more later and some of them will be too advanced for him at this stage anyway, but I don’t think 2 pages really counts as a book. I have got to get a wriggle on!

When I was working out what I wanted to make, I saw a lot of weaving pages online – mostly just squares, and a few pies, a tennis racket. I wanted something different, but couldn’t work out what. Then I decided I wanted a bird page, because Monkey is obsessed with birds – and it occurred to me to make a weave-able bird’s nest!

So I did. Andplusalso it has eggs that can be put in and out of the nest, each one different (the plain looking one is actually kinda furry), and taggies of various ric-rac and ribbons  on the wings and tail.

IMG_20130516_213223[1]

IMG_20130516_213251[1]

I love how it turned out.

Of course, being a glutton for punishment I wasn’t content to have the weave-able bits just be plain old felt. I decided they needed to be more ‘birds-nesty’ and so I spent hours in front of the television making 10 strand plaits from various combinations of brown wool. Then I sewed these onto felt and cut them to the appropriate lengths. I think it looks fantastic, but it was a lot of extra work that I’m sure Monkey won’t even notice.

IMG_20130516_213251[1]

I also hand stitched the eggs with cardboard inside to stiffen them. Then I sewed them onto pieces of ribbon anchored inside the nest so they can’t get lost!

I considered hand stitching the leaves in place, but in the end decided to do it by machine, and it was SO MUCH FASTER. Which is no surprise to anyone, I’m sure. I really have to remember to do it all by machine or I’ll get nowhere fast. And I’m really happy with how it looks anyway, so now I have that much more time to get on with the next page!

IMG_20130516_213223[1]

2 comments on “Quiet book page – weaving a bird’s nest

  1. Michelle
    May 23, 2013

    Beautiful! And ambitious. I remembered to have my boys brush their teeth today.

  2. glumbunny
    June 3, 2013

    It’s taken me a TRAJILLION years to say this, but OMG, so impressive. I think it’s really, really charming and really beautiful. I LOVE the bird’s expression. She’s like WOAH, what’s up with my EGGS! I love the shape of the tree branches and the colors and everything, and I think the weave-able bits were worth the effort. Plain felt would have been SAD in comparison to the other awesome stuff.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 23, 2013 by in quiet book, the craft.
