Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Judge not

I just experienced my first instance of public vilification as a mother, and I have to say it was a bit of a shock. Although I suppose I should be glad to have made it this far without the wonderful experience of a stranger voicing their snap judgement.

I needed a few things from the local supermarket, so I asked Monkey if he wanted to walk or ride in the pram. He chose pram, so I strapped him in, handed over a banana and we walked to the shop.

When we got there he was sitting (!) quietly (!) in his pram eating, so I took the opportunity to send a quick email from my phone. (I’ve spent the past 6 months making no money and using every spare moment to write my first phone app – this email was to our very first client!!). Anyone who has ever met Monkey (or any toddler!) knows that getting anything at all done with him around is a mission.

An older woman walked past us and remarked to Monkey in a very snide tone “It must be a pretty boring life for you”.

image

Why? Because I’m taking a moment to do something on my phone, and you immediately extrapolate that to the child sitting in his pram all day every day while I look at Facebook? What the? You don’t know me! You don’t know what we did half an hour ago, or what we’ll do in the next half hour. You don’t know that this morning I took Monkey out to jump in the puddles and run in the rain. You don’t know that I spend hours with him looking in the letterbox to find snails, or racing around the house with our cars (my poor back!).

image

And do you know what? It doesn’t even matter what I do or don’t do with my son. It’s none of your damn business. What is it that happens once people’s children grow up to make them forget what it is like?

Do I judge other parents? Sure I do… Inside my head. (Or on my blog!). And that’s where it stays. Because I know its baseless and inappropriate and nothing to do with me. So next time, bite your damn tongue and keep it to yourself!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by in brain fry.
