Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Happy dreams

On my way to bed tonight, I promised myself I wouldn’t lie in the dark and write a blog. But then I saw this posted on Facebook, and I couldn’t help myself!

I’m so so SO excited to read that researchers in Sweden have found a molecule which targets and helps to destroy the MYCN gene – the gene present in neuroblastoma.

This is seriously amazing news. The MYCN (or nMYC) gene is known to significantly affect the survival rates for neuroblastoma. We were very lucky that Monkey’s tumor was not nMYC amplified – if it had been, his odds of survival would have been more like 30% rather than the 80%-90% chance that he had. Just because of this one gene. His treatment would have been significantly longer, harsher and more invasive than it was.

And the majority of neuroblastoma cases are nMYC amplified. Anything that can kick nMYC ass is so bloody fabulous that I would give up my last piece of chocolate for it.

I realise that this isn’t a treatment as such, and it will almost certainly be a number of years before any treatment based on these findings becomes available. It cannot come soon enough for the children who are fighting this, but it gives me hope that one day someone will find a way to beat this beast for good.

Wipe them out. All of them.

One comment on “Happy dreams

  1. glumbunny
    June 10, 2013

    Yep, WIPE ‘EM OUT! ALL OF THEM! The Swedes can have my last piece of chocolate, too, if it helps them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 7, 2013 by in cancer.
