Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Quiet book page – buckling a dog collar

Monkey loves dogs so this one was obvious.

IMG_20130628_220125[1]

Cramming as many things onto a page as I can lets me get the most bang for my quiet book buck, so I included four different buckle-ish and dog related items, which is about all the page could logically support.

IMG_20130628_220245[1]

I can’t draw to save my life, but on a good day I’m a pretty decent forger, so I freehand copied/enlarged the dog from a clip art I liked on Google images, and machine sewed everything but the eyeball and mouth – they were too small for my machine skills.

For the detail of the legs I pinned my paper pattern onto the page and stitched over my drawing, then gently removed the paper. Mainly because I don’t have a washable fabric marker and was too impatient to go and get one!

IMG_20130628_220125[1]

The collar, lead and buckle cost me a grand total of $7 from a local discount shop. My sewing machine actually managed to stitch through the leather collar to secure it – I wasn’t sure that it would.

The lead and buckle (which came off a different collar) are on that nylon-ish type stuff. I (very carefully) tested a piece of it and found that it melts like ribbon does to stop fraying, with the heat of a match. Which is awesome, since I was then able to melt the ends rather than having to try to hem them or otherwise work out how to keep them from unraveling. I also made sure to stitch each piece of the lead to the page so that nothing can get lost (and so it doesn’t obscure the dog’s face!).

The dog tag is one of those separable key ring things where you have to push it in and pull at the same time. I’ve had it tucked away in a drawer since I decided to make the quiet book. I attached one end to the collar with a length of ribbon to make sure it doesn’t get lost! I expect that it will take Monkey a long time to work out how to do that particular thing, but everyone needs a challenge!

I love how this one turned out. Super cute and an interesting range of things to play with. Hopefully it’ll buy me at least 5 minutes quiet!

9 comments on “Quiet book page – buckling a dog collar

  1. Gemini Momma
    July 2, 2013

    Soooo cute! My mom made my girls a book like this- I didn’t realize they had a name (“quiet books”) I know it took her a LONG time to put together and was a lot of work. Monkey is going to love this! I wish I had the creativity and skill to do this kind of work!

    • boringyear
      July 3, 2013

      There’s no reason it couldn’t be put together with hot glue, and there are plenty of patterns online! 😉

  2. pepibebe
    July 2, 2013

    Cute! I hand appliqued my wife a hot water bottle cover for xmas – with a pig sitting in mud (it’s a Caribbean expression for when someone really loves something…’like pig love mud’). It took soooooo long that I was still stitching it on xmas eve and ended up only tacking part of it on. So I finally finished it a few weeks ago. I therefore very much appreciate all the handwork you are putting into this book!

    • boringyear
      July 3, 2013

      That’s the reason I switched over to as little hand sewing as possible! It looks fabulous but boy is it ever time consuming! Machine stitching is soooo much faster.

  3. pepibebe
    July 2, 2013

    PS – there’s a partially finished pic of it on my blog if you look for the xmas post.

  4. theyneedlovetoo
    July 2, 2013

    Wow, this is so cute!

  5. glumbunny
    July 2, 2013

    Unbelievably adorable, as usual. So brilliant how you found a way to incorporate all those mechanisms! I’m getting really envious of Monkey. I think this page would keep ME quiet for an hour!

    • boringyear
      July 3, 2013

      Thanks! I’m so pleased with how it’s all turning out. It’s just a shame it won’t be gifted before our next set of hospital appointments!!

  6. theyneedlovetoo
    July 3, 2013

    I love it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2013 by in quiet book, the craft.
