Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

Day 1 Diva

In addition to being MRI day, yesterday was Cycle Day 1. Gulp.

Yes, I have my period for the first time in almost 3 years. And I have to say, I haven’t missed it one bit!

Because I’m cheap, and a bit of a hippie, I prefer to avoid disposable products when I can (cloth nappies, silicone baking sheets instead of baking paper and cloth sandwich wraps instead of plastic wrap etc), so years ago it seemed logical to try a menstrual cup.

And boy, I still love my Diva Cup! For those who are interested, I’m about to tell you why – but if you’re squeamish (or if you’re Hubs) then click away now. Really. You have been warned.

image

When I first read about menstrual cups, I thought the same as most people – ewww.

And yes, it is a little gross. But let’s be honest, every variety of pad and tampon I’ve ever tried was gross. Plus I’ve bled through a super tampon within a couple of hours before, so they’re not even that protective.

Also I don’t know if it’s just me, but I never figured out how to pee while wearing a tampon without having the string wick everything up, which meant I had to change my tampon every time I needed to pee. Which is drying, to say the least.

No string means freedom to pee (although I do sometimes need to reposition the cup when I’m done) which is making period plus toddler simpler than I imagine it would otherwise be! I can wait until nap time or when Hubs gets home, and deal with emptying my cup in blessed private.

OK, I said it. You have to empty the cup. There’s no getting around it. I just tip it in the toilet and then rinse in the sink (or when i was working, take a bottle of water in with me). But unlike a tampon, the blood doesn’t stay in contact with your body while it’s inside, so you can wear it longer without the risk of TSS.

Which means you can wear it overnight. I do. This is absolutely my favorite thing about it – it eliminates that hideous feeling when you stand up in the morning and gravity gets to you. You know what I’m talking about. Ugh. I have a distinct memory of this happening once when I was a teenager, and let’s just say I had to scrub my carpet in secret. Mortifying. I’ve lived in fear of the first thing in the morning stand up ever since.

It took me a few tries to get the hang of inserting the cup, but now it’s cake. I just had to find the fold that works best for me (thanks Google!) – I use the W fold.

image

I find it pops open easily and gives me a good seal. I’ve never had a leak (although I wore backup pads for a while because I just didn’t trust it!), and once it’s in I don’t even know it’s there. Honest.

However, I must have a short vagina or something because trimming the stem to a comfortable length (as instructed) never worked for me – I actually turned mine inside out and use it like that. The shape works much better for me, and it shortens it just enough. Perhaps a different brand may be better in this regard, I’m not sure.

But seriously. This thing is awesome. If you’ve never heard of a menstrual cup or you’ve ever considered trying one – give it a go! I’m so glad I did – I will never go back to tampons again!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2013 by in crunchy hippie.
