Here's To A Boring Year

Too much excitement just might kill me!

I’m an Aunty! Again. And I made a thing.

My sister had her baby boy today! So excited. She was induced because he was small and his growth was plateauing, but she got away with just Cervadil.

He’s very small – only 2.57kg (5lbs 7oz). So cute. She and I were both tiny babies and I wonder how I managed to grow a kid that was born almost a kilo bigger than hers! (Monkey was 3.5kg or 7lbs 7oz).

Interestingly, her labour progressed quite similarly to mine. She laboured overnight, then her waters broke and the kid came flying out. She was 3 hours 5 minutes from waters breaking to delivery (vacuum assisted, but just one yank) and mine was 3 hours 15. One day I’ll get around to posting my full birth story.

But anyway. Onto baby gifts!

When I found out she was pregnant I bought her an Ellaroo ring sling (and lent her my Moby for the newborn months), so that was my main gift, but I couldn’t show up at the hospital empty handed!

They found out the gender of the baby and he inherited clothes from a set of twins while still in utero. So they have clothes upon clothes, and no need of more. He already has 21 pairs of socks, and around the same number of bibs. They have everything.

I couldn’t think of a good gift.

So I decided to make him something small. Thanks to pepibebe’s taggie hedgehog post, and this tutorial for a taggie dinosaur, I made this:

image

Cute, no?

My printer has no ink so I freehanded the pattern, and I cut the pieces before sewing on the ribbons. My ribbons don’t stand up straight so they could probably have done with being a bit shorter, but it turned out really cute. And cleverly (by fluke), I finished it a day early!

Plus I bought a board copy of The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I always gift books to kids on any gift-giving occasion, and that one is my first choice. And they didn’t have it yet, so WIN!

But my main gift was for my sister. She was careful her whole pregnancy about not eating ‘dangerous’ foods, but there were a lot of things I know she missed. So I took her a bag of goodies, with an alcoholic cider for her, a beer for her hubby, brie, cream cheese, salami and crackers, and homemade chocolate mousse.

She LOVED it.

So next time you’re stuck for a baby gift? Give a mummy gift instead!

4 comments on “I’m an Aunty! Again. And I made a thing.

  1. Gemini Momma
    August 14, 2013

    The title of this post cracked me up. That is way more than “a thing.” I need to steal this idea immediately. Except oh wait I don’t have a sewing machine or any sewing knowledge so, booooo. That is super cute anyway, that thing. Congrats on your new nephew! I have one of those too! 🙂

    • boringyear
      August 14, 2013

      Actually it was super quick and easy to make! Literally a couple of hours.

      • Gemini Momma
        August 14, 2013

        I could probably hand sew it (orrrr send the idea to my mom who could whip it up in no time) 😉 Maybe one of these days I’ll buy a sewing machine.

  2. glumbunny
    August 15, 2013

    I LOVE YOUR THING! It’s adorable, totally adorable. And I dig the mummy gift. But most of all, congratulations on Auntyhood again!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 14, 2013 by in baby talk, the craft.
